Sourdough Adventure: Starting the Bread

So I’m finally, finally starting the second phase of making Sourdough Bread which is mixing and fermenting. This should take up to 48 hours.  First I took The Sourdough Starter out of the refrigerator and took out 1/3 cup and put it in a bowl. Then I added more flour and water to feed what was in the jar. Before I can begin the bread the starter has to be at room temperature so I put the 1/3 cup aside. That’s where it is now. This bread, interestingly enough, is baked in a preheated cast iron Dutch Oven. That insures a wonderful crust and a beautiful crumb. (That’s the official name for that wonderfully chewy inside. Perfect for crostini. I can’t wait. 

While that’s happening I’m making another bread recipe from Rose Levy Berenbaum’s The Bread Bible. White Bread for toasting and making sandwiches. According to Rose Levy Berenbaum the review was “This is what Wonder Bread always wanted to be.” I can’t wait for it to finish. In addition to yeast and flour it has Honey and Skim Milk in it. The interesting thing is that you have to make a liquid base with Flour, Honey, Milk, Water and Yeast. Into that you add a mixture of more Flour, more Yeast and Salt. Then the dry mixture is gently sprinkled on top of the liquid base and set aside to ferment for one to four hours, kneaded and baked. The oven will be preheated with a baking sheet on the lowest possible rack for forty-five minutes before baking. It will produce a soft bread that is perfect for toasting  and slathering a spread on or making sandwiches. 

Always health conscious, I’m sick of buying and depending on what you can get in the supermarket or bakery. Besides the fact that very often you can’t decipher half the items that are in it, it may have seeds or nuts. My wife has an issue with her kidney and can’t have seeds. So we have to be careful. She loves Cinnamon Raisin Bread and can’t have Raisins. So I will eventually substitute Dried Cranberries for the Raisins. 

Stay tuned for the next few days because I will continue to share my adventure with you. 

2 thoughts on “Sourdough Adventure: Starting the Bread

  1. Bia

    I have been wanting to make my own sourdough bread for some time now but sadly I don’t have a good oven in the moment. (mine broke yuck T^T)
    But keep us updated!
    (and this white bread with honey seems delicious)
    I also would love to be able to make my own bread and test with different ingredients

    Liked by 1 person

    • urbanfoodie

      It’s more like science than cooking but so well worth it. The white bread came out wonderfully tonight. When you get your oven working I highly recommend Rose Levy Berenbaum’s “The Bread Bible.” It covers it all.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

