Delicious in the Morning

This is a base recipe I’ve been making ever since I can remember. My mother actually found the recipe and it was for Zucchini Bread. I love that but I wanted to change it up. Give myself options. Keep it alive. The recipe can also be used to make muffins. 

The role of the Zucchini is moisture. So if you’re not going to use Zucchini you have to replace the moisture. You can change it up for carrots which I love because I like to make Carrot Ginger Bread with Craisins and Walnuts. The Bread above is a five Berry Bread and I used Buttermilk as a replacement for the moisture. You can also use yogurt. I like to include Buttermilk for the health benefits. It is high in proteins, vitamins B-2 and D, calcium and it helps digestion. It also adds a slight sour note. 

When I use this recipe to make muffins, I like to use a ice cream scoop sprayed with Pam or an olive oil spray – keeps the batter from sticking – to transfer the batter to the muffin tin. I use an extra large muffin tin that I got from a restaurant supply house. (I will espouse on restaurant supply houses vs stores like Bed Bath and Beyond – a pet peeve of mine in another post).

Don’t forget to decorate your breads and muffins. Be creative. I used some of the Strawberries and Walnuts to decorate the top. You can also use oats or a sugar glaze or a crumble – like you would put on a fruit crumble or crisp. 

One more note. This recipe is healthy. Not like the muffins and breads you may get in the store or bakery. It uses Vegetable Oil instead of Butter.  If you prefer not to use All Purpose Flour then you can use Whole Wheat or anything else you want to experiment with. One tip though. Never use all Whole Wheat. Add some White Flour. Your bread will be very heavy and dry if you do. 


Here’s the recipe. Enjoy!

Morning Quick Bread: makes two loaves

4 Eggs 

1 Cup Vegetable Oil (I prefer Olive Oil for health benefits and the flavor)

2 Cups of Sugar

1 Teaspoon of Vanilla Extract 

1 1/2 Teaspoons Salt

1 1/2 Teaspoons Baking Soda

1 1/2 Teaspoons of Baking Powder

4 Cups of Flour

2 Cups Zucchini or Carrots or 1 Cup of Yogurt or Buttermilk

1 Cup of Nuts or more to taste

Berries or other add ins to taste

Spices to taste such as Cinnamon, Nutmeg, Ginger or Cloves. 

Optional: 1 Teaspoon Orange Oil or Orange, Lemon or Lime Zest

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Prepare bread pans or muffin tins. 

2. Combine Vegetable Oil and Sugar and mix thoroughly. Add Eggs, Vanilla (add Zucchini or Carrots here) and other wet ingredients. Mix thoroughly. 

3. Then add dry ingredients – Flour, Salt, Baking Soda and Baking Powder and Spices. Fold in Nuts and Berries. 

4. Turn batter into bread pans or scoop into muffin tins. Bake for 1/2 hour to 1 hour and 15 minutes depending on the size of what you’re baking in. Insert a cake tester to be sure it’s done, slice and enjoy. 

TIP: for preparing bread pans. Use Butter or Shortening to grease the pan thoroughly and then dust with flour. I like to put a tablespoon of Flour in the bottom of the pan and tap it around over the sink. Otherwise the Flour might wind up all over the kitchen. For muffins I use muffin papers.  No need for greasing and flouring there. 

Wake up to a beautiful day every day and may it always start with wonderful flavors in your mouth. 

Leave a Reply

