Weekend Special: Brunch

frittatatoserve

What’s a weekend without a good brunch?  Every weekend I make something special to celebrate our making it through the week.  Today I made a Frittata and I have to say it was divine.  This is an example of how chef’s can inspire you.  I never thought of making a Frittata until I saw Lidia Bastianich make one.  She said it was like a Quiche without the crust and she was so right.  I guess I simply never understood it before and now it’s something I make once a month.

A word about eggs.  They’re not the little demons of cholesterol that we once thought they were.  The yolks are full of Folic Acid – particularly good for women – and Omega 3 oils that help lower your cholesterol.  They are also a good source of protein.  I like to eat them for the protein factor but they have so many other benefits.  Don’t eat them every day but I believe in eating them twice a week – especially for women because of the Folic Acid.

Lidia is right. A Frittata is almost like a Quiche without the crust.  (My favorite part of a Quiche is the crust but I’ll forgo it for this).  A Frittata is cooked in the pan first and then transferred to the oven so that it gets a nice crispy bottom.  You can use any kind of ingredients with it.  I used Asparagus, Sweet Red Peppers and Parsley with Jarlsberg Cheese.  You can make a Frittata for any meal of the day.   We like it for Brunch. It reminds us of an omelette. My spouse doesn’t like anything cured, smoked or brined which is too bad because I’d just love to add Prosciutto or Smoked Salmon.

frittatapre
Frittatta Assembled Just Before it Goes in the Oven

So here is my recipe for a Frittata

Frittata with Asparagus, Red Pepper, Parsley and Jarlsberg Cheese

10 Eggs – whisked until the yolks and whites are loosely integrated.

10 to 15 Stalks of Asparagus – cut into thirds

1 Medium Bell Pepper – cut into thin strips

1/2 Cup Curly Parsley – chopped

1/3 Cup Jarlsberg Cheese – grated

3 to 4 Tablespoons of Olive Oil – for greasing the pan

1. Turn oven to 350º.  Put the Asparagus and Bell Pepper into a small pan and start cooking. Put the eggs into a larger pan on a low to medium flame and start cooking. (This part should be done on your stove.)

2. When you see that a thick amount (but not all) of the eggs are cooked start assembling.  Put the Parsley in while the Eggs are still mostly wet.  Then add the Asparagus and the Bell Pepper.  Sprinkle the Cheese on top.

3. Transfer to the oven and cook for 20 minutes.

4. Transfer to a serving plate and cut into 8 slices – assuming everyone will have two slices.  Enjoy!

Frittata Just Out of the Oven
Frittata Just Out of the Oven

We like to serve it with Toast, Homemade Quick Bread or Muffins and a salad of some sort.  Berries are in season now so I made a Four Berry Salad with Mint and Almonds and we got Cranberry Muffins from our local bakery (They were good but mostly disappointing because there were very few Cranberries and a lot of Butter and Sugar).  It was all delicious though.

Frittata on a Plate with Muffins and Mixed Berry, Mint Salad
Frittata Served

Berry Salad Recipe

1/2 Cup each Blueberries, Blackberries, Raspberries

1/2 Cup Sliced Strawberries

1/4 Cup Mint – cut into a Chiffonade

1/8 Cup Almonds – sliced

1. Clean, Prep and Wash all of the ingredients.

2. Gently mix all of the ingredients.

3. Serve

You can put this into a bowl with a spoon on the table for everyone to take some. I like to give individual bowls on the plate.  Maybe it’s just me but I think it looks prettier and you don’t have to worry about ‘double dipping.’  I even indulge in eating it with my hands, picking the berries up as if they were potato chips.

Tip: You should gently toss the salad with your hands.  The Berries are easily crushed, especially by a utensil. 

I hope that this adds something special to your weekend or at least inspires you to treat yourself well and to relax.

Save

Leave a Reply

